SC Tennis Hall of Fame

The South Carolina Tennis Hall of Fame, located in the historic Belton Depot on Main Street in Belton, is one of the finest sports museums in the country. Opened in 1984, the Hall of Fame honors the state’s top players (both professional and amateur) and tennis officials. Trophies, racquets and other tennis memorabilia from the past are on display. The Hall of Fame is operated by South Carolina Tennis Patrons Foundation. Through 2016 the Hall of Fame has 62 inductees, including 5 inductees from Belton…Janie Haynie Hentz, Fluffy Rice, Jim Russell, Rex Maynard and Max Grubbs. New inductees are selected by the Hall of Fame Selection Committee and are inducted during the Hall of Fame Banquet held in December during the USTA South Carolina Annual Meeting.

tennis hall of fame

The focal point of the Hall is the inductees’ portrait gallery. Every portrait was painted by Wayland Moore, a Belton native. Each new portrait is unveiled and placed in the Hall after the induction ceremony in December each year.  Old Racquets, books, trophies, pictures and many other tennis artifacts are on display. These include a memento from each of the inductees tennis career.

The Tennis Hall of Fame is available to the public during the hours of operation for the Belton Museums in the Belton Depot. Those times are as follows:


Wednesday & Thursday 9:00 am – 2:00 pm
Friday 9:00 am – 4:00 pm

Saturday 9:00 am – 1:00 pm

Museum Curator/Depot Director
100 North Main Street
Belton, SC 29627
Phone: 864-338-7400

Rex Maynard (864-314-9451) or [email protected]

[email protected]

SC Tennis Hall of Fame